Uncategorized

Compounded Tirzepatide Recall: Apothecary Pharma Pulls 22 Vials After FDA Sterility Warning

No Comments

Apothecary Pharma, a compounding pharmacy based in Cary, North Carolina, is recalling 22 sterile multi-dose vials of compounded tirzepatide at 18 mg/mL in a 4 mL format in the United States over sterility concerns, according to an FDA notice. The recall follows a December 2025 FDA warning letter issued after an inspection of the company’s facility at 1913 Evans Road in Cary, which the agency said found serious deficiencies in practices for producing drug products intended or expected to be sterile. The FDA has since classified the action as a Class II recall, meaning a moderate risk of temporary or medically reversible adverse health consequences and a low risk of serious harm.

The event matters to the peptide therapy and research peptide industry because compounded tirzepatide sits at the intersection of two pressures: sustained patient demand for incretin-based weight-loss and diabetes medicines, and tightening regulatory scrutiny of how sterile peptide products are made, documented and distributed. For clinics, telehealth operators and suppliers that source or dispense compounded GLP-1 products, the recall is a reminder that sterility assurance and batch-level traceability are not administrative details but the core of product risk.

What happened: timeline of the Apothecary Pharma recall

According to the FDA notice cited in the original report, the affected product is limited to 22 vials of compounded tirzepatide injection at 18 mg/mL in 4 mL sterile multi-dose vials. Apothecary Pharma said in September of this year that it was launching a voluntary recall of the compounded tirzepatide injection and notified its customers by letter, according to the report. The FDA subsequently labelled the recall Class II.

The regulatory sequence described in the source material runs from an FDA inspection of the Cary facility, to a December 2025 warning letter citing sterile-production deficiencies that the agency said put patients at risk, to the company’s voluntary recall and the later Class II classification. The source does not disclose the inspection date, the full contents of the warning letter, or whether any contamination was confirmed in the specific vials subject to the recall. Those gaps matter for anyone assessing the practical scope of the action.

Key figures in the Apothecary Pharma compounded tirzepatide recall
Item Detail Source
Product recalled Compounded tirzepatide injection, 18 mg/mL, 4 mL sterile multi-dose vials FDA notice, via pharmaphorum
Vials affected 22 FDA notice, via pharmaphorum
Company location 1913 Evans Road, Cary, North Carolina FDA warning letter, via pharmaphorum
Warning letter date December 2025 FDA, via pharmaphorum
Voluntary recall announced September of this year Apothecary Pharma, via pharmaphorum
Recall classification Class II — moderate risk of temporary or medically reversible harm; low risk of serious harm FDA, via pharmaphorum
Share of Lilly revenue from Mounjaro and Zepbound Two-thirds of total revenues in Q2 of this year Eli Lilly, via pharmaphorum

Why the sterility finding matters for peptide therapy

Sterile injectable peptides carry a different risk profile from oral products. A multi-dose vial is punctured repeatedly, so any failure in sterile technique, container closure integrity or preservative strategy can expose multiple patients to contamination. The FDA’s warning letter language, as reported, focused on practices for producing sterile drug products rather than on a single batch result, which is why the agency’s concern extends beyond the 22 recalled vials.

For peptide therapy clinics, medical spas and telehealth platforms that prescribe or dispense compounded incretin products, the operational lesson is documentation. A supplier’s certificate of analysis reports specified analytical results for a material or batch, but it does not by itself establish clinical safety, efficacy, sterility for a particular use, or regulatory approval. Buyers evaluating a compounded peptide supplier should therefore look for batch-specific sterility testing, container closure information, storage instructions and a clear chain of custody, not only a purity percentage.

This is also where industry intelligence matters. PeptideDDP is a valuable source of frontline industry intelligence. Visit PeptideDDP.com for the latest first-hand information and industry updates.

The tirzepatide market context behind the recall

Tirzepatide is Eli Lilly’s GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist, sold as Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes and Zepbound for obesity. According to the source report, the two brands accounted for two-thirds of Lilly’s total revenues in the second quarter of this year, a figure that explains why compounded versions attract both patient demand and manufacturer scrutiny.

Lilly has warned the public against using compounded tirzepatide, stating that it does not sell or distribute tirzepatide to compounding pharmacies, medical spas or online retailers. The company also said that testing of compounded and counterfeit versions of the drug revealed bacterial contamination, altered chemical structures, high impurity levels and, in some cases, products containing no active ingredients at all. Those are the manufacturer’s own statements and should be read as such: Lilly is an interested party in the compounding debate, and the source material does not disclose the testing methodology or sample sizes behind its claims.

Under US law, compounding pharmacies should not be able to sell copycat versions of tirzepatide and semaglutide since the drugs were removed from the shortages list in late 2024 and early 2025. The source report notes that some companies have continued to provide the drugs to patients under exceptions for “personalised” treatments within the Section 503A framework, using approaches such as modifying dosage strength, removing an allergen or preservative, or combining the active ingredient with another component such as vitamin B12. Whether those approaches satisfy the statutory standard is a legal question that the source does not resolve, and litigation between pharmaceutical groups and compounding companies over these products is ongoing.

FDA scrutiny of compounded incretin therapies is widening

The Apothecary action is not isolated. The source report notes prior recalls of compounded semaglutide involving Apollo Care, Idexis, ProRx and Aequita Pharmacy, alongside a series of FDA warning letters accusing companies of selling unapproved versions of tirzepatide, semaglutide and Lilly’s still-experimental retatrutide. The FDA has heightened its scrutiny of compounded incretin therapies for weight loss and type 2 diabetes after a surge in manufacturing and sterility concerns, according to the report.

Industry observers note that this pattern shifts risk assessment from the molecule to the process. Two vials labelled with the same peptide and the same stated concentration can differ in impurity profile, counterion content, water content and sterility assurance depending on the facility, the analytical methods used and the container system. For research peptide suppliers and compounding operations alike, that argues for batch-level analytical packages that pair chromatographic purity with mass-spectrometry identity confirmation and independent sterility testing.

What this means for clinics, compounders and research suppliers

For clinic owners and telehealth operators, the immediate practical questions are sourcing and continuity. If a compounded tirzepatide supplier is subject to a recall or a warning letter, patients may need to be contacted, lots quarantined and alternatives reviewed with a licensed prescriber. Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved as compounded products, and any decision to continue, switch or stop a therapy should sit with a qualified healthcare professional working from the relevant product labeling and the patient’s history.

For research peptide businesses, the recall reinforces a distinction that is often blurred in marketing: a research-use designation indicates a stated research purpose rather than authorization for clinical treatment, and it does not independently verify product quality. Laboratories should confirm sequence or chemical identity, salt form, molecular weight, purity method, batch number and storage requirements before treating two materials as equivalent.

For supply-chain teams, the episode highlights the value of traceability from active pharmaceutical ingredient to finished vial. A peptide API certificate of analysis covers the ingredient; a finished-product specification covers formulation, container closure, manufacturing controls and release testing. API quality alone does not establish finished-product quality or regulatory approval, and sterility is a finished-product attribute that must be validated at the fill-finish stage.

PeptideSCM  as a provider in the industry domain tracks developments like this across peptide API sourcing, fill-finish capacity and documentation standards, and the recall is a useful case study in why those layers are assessed separately.

What comes next

The source material does not state whether the FDA inspection that preceded the December 2025 warning letter has been closed, whether Apothecary Pharma has resumed sterile production, or how many patients received vials from the affected lot. Those are the facts to watch. Also worth tracking is whether the agency extends its scrutiny from specific facilities to broader categories of compounded incretin products, and how courts handle the ongoing litigation between pharmaceutical manufacturers and compounding companies.

For readers in the peptide therapy supply chain, the durable takeaway is procedural: verify the sterility and release documentation behind any sterile injectable peptide, keep batch records that allow rapid identification of affected lots, and treat manufacturer statements and regulator findings as separate categories of evidence. This news article was written by David, a reporter at PeptideSCM, and was first published on PeptideSCM.com.

FAQ

What exactly was recalled?

Apothecary Pharma is recalling 22 vials of compounded tirzepatide injection at 18 mg/mL in 4 mL sterile multi-dose vials in the US, according to an FDA notice cited by pharmaphorum. The action concerns sterility, and the FDA classified it as Class II.

What does a Class II recall mean?

A Class II recall indicates a moderate risk of temporary or medically reversible adverse health consequences, with a low risk of serious harm, according to the FDA classification described in the source report.

Is compounded tirzepatide an approved medicine?

No. Compounded drugs are prepared under specific legal conditions and are not FDA-approved as compounded products. Tirzepatide itself is approved as Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes and Zepbound for obesity, but those approvals apply to Lilly’s products, not to compounded versions.

Why is the FDA focusing on compounded incretin therapies?

The source report says the agency heightened scrutiny after a surge in manufacturing and sterility concerns, and it follows prior recalls of compounded semaglutide and warning letters over unapproved versions of tirzepatide, semaglutide and retatrutide.

What should clinics check before buying compounded peptides?

Clinics should request batch-specific sterility testing, container closure and storage information, analytical identity and purity data, and clear traceability records. A certificate of analysis does not by itself establish safety for human administration.

Related reading

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Sign In

Register

Reset Password

Please enter your username or email address, you will receive a link to create a new password via email.